The Diocese naturally divides into four regional deaneries - Marlborough in the east, Mawhera in the
west and Nelson and Waimea in the north. Of our 25 parishes, many serve rural areas with scattered
populations and multiple towns. We also have large churches in the provincial towns and a
magnificent cathedral in the centre of Nelson City.

  • Marlborough

    Marlborough includes the grape-growing
    areas of the Wairau Valley and the glorious
    Marlborough Sounds. Further south, Kaikoura
    boasts a rugged coastline, spectacular
    mountain scenery and whale watching.

  • Mawhera

    Mawhera covers the West Coast as far south
    as Westport, and includes the intriguing
    pancake rocks and blow holes at Punakaiki,
    and the lush West Coast forest best typified
    around Karamea.


    • Waimea

      Waimea covers beautiful Golden Bay and the
      Tasman areas, including the dazzling waters
      and golden sand beaches of the Abel Tasman
      National Park.


    • Nelson

      Nelson is the seat of the Diocese and centres
      around sunny Nelson, with its tree-lined main
      streets and delightful Tahunanui Beach. Nelson's
      Christ Church Cathedral sits proudly
      overlooking the town centre

Go to top